A Guide to the Hunter Valley

May 30, 2019
A Guide to the Hunter Valley

Where is the Hunter Valley?

Just a short two hours’ drive north of Sydney and surrounded by impressive natural beauty is the Hunter Valley. It is one of Australia’s most visited wine regions and is one of the longest established and most significant for New South Wales. Some of the world’s most distinctive styles of Sémillon, Shiraz and Chardonnay are produced here and the accomplishment of the pioneering family-owned wineries has inspired new vignerons to make different wines from emerging European grape varieties.

The Hunter Valley wine region has three identified sub-regions which are Broke Fordwich which is in the Singleton Shire (registered in 1997 and accounting for 14% of all the Hunter’s plantings), Pokolbin and the Upper Hunter (both registered in 2010).

The picturesque town of Pokolbin has been the heart of the Lower Hunter since the early 1930s and features long-established plantings, as well as newer plantings.


Image taken from Wine Country

The Climate

The Hunter Valley has a warm and humid climate with rain, humidity, cloud cover and gentle sea breezes which alleviate the warmth. The key to the region's viticultural success, is the local mesoclimate which is cooled by regular afternoon cloud cover and moderate breezes which reach inland from the coast. Together, these two climatic factors temper the otherwise exceptionally high temperatures and allow the vines some respite from the sweltering Australian sun.


Image taken from Adventure Tours


The Hunter Valley is 130 metres above sea level. Due to its low latitude and somewhat wet climate, the Hunter Valley is not an obvious contender as a source of quality white wines. The regions distinctive style and ageing potential has earned them their popularity.


Image taken from HunterHunter

The Varietals

There are approximately 150 wineries set amoungst the rolling hills of the Hunter Valley. The soils throughout the region are varied which allows the different varietals to succeed including Chardonnay, Sémillon and Verdelho in terms of whites and Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon, Pinot Noir and Merlot in terms of reds.

The Hunter Valley is justifiably proud of the regions rich wine heritage that stretches back around 180 years and their flagship Hunter Valley Sémillon and Shiraz, both which captures the spirit of the Hunter Valley region in a bottle.


Image taken from Wine Country

Explore the Hunter Valley on CellarSpace

*/ -->